Hot House Cafe – Summerlicious 2013

I recently went to the Hot House Cafe located on 35 Church Street for their Summerlicious 2013 dinner!

Lunch Price: $15

Dinner Price: $25

What I ordered:

Appetizer: Soup of the Day (I forgot to take a picture because I was too hungry!)

  • The Soup of the Day was a type of tomato based seafood soup that had potato chunks in it. The soup was hot compared to some other places that serve cold soup as an appetizer. I personally loved the soup and how it was closer to a stew!

Main: Surf & Turf  (8 oz Angus New York Strip loin grilled and served with a Canadian Lobster tail Topped with Chive Truffle Butter)

Surf & Turf

  • This is a picture of my friend’s Surf & Turf where he got rice instead of a baked potato like I did! He liked the rice. My baked potato was actually just a baked potato that came with a small dish of sour cream. Veggies (beans and carrots) were served as well. I enjoyed my lobster tail, however the steak (mediam-rare) wasn’t anything too special. But for $25 for an app, main, and dessert, a regular steak with lobster tail is totally worth it!

Dessert: Sticky Toffee Pudding

Sticky Toffee Pudding

  • This here was the definition of heaven if you love cinnamon rolls (Cinnabon), caramel, and soft melty-like bread. I generally love cheesecake, but I decided to be spontaneous and got this Sticky Toffee Pudding instead! It was wonderful. My friends rejected their desserts to steal a bite out of mine! I’ll also include pictures of my friend’s desserts for you guys as well!
  • Sorbet (A scoop of seasonal sorbet and berries to finish your meal): I didn’t give this a try, but generally sorbets are light and a sprinkle of fruit is a nice touch to finish a meal!

Sorbet

  • New York Baked Cheesecake (A rich and creamy piece of New York style cheesecake smothered in strawberry sauce): I’m a big fan of cheesecake, but this cheesecake here was super fluffy and almost didn’t taste like a cheesecake. I was expecting a nice dense, regular new york cheesecake. None of my friends or I was a huge fan of this cheesecake, but if you like super light and fluffy cheesecake, this might be for you!

New York CheesecakeIf you have any restuarant recommendations for Summerlicious or Winterlicious, let me know!

 

Leave a Reply

