November 2013 – Ipsy/My Glam

Theme: GLAM IT UP

Number of Samples: SIX

20131108_160624

For $10/month ($15/month for Canadians), I was truly disappointed in this month’s ipsy’s glam bag. If you’ve read my other posts, I am not a fan of sparkly makeup or things in general! This month’s “cute little bag” may be cute to some of you, but for me it was a complete disaster! It felt like golden tin foil! I don’t think I can use it as a mini “personal item” carrier for those monthly inconveniences without catching the attention of every living creature in  a room. I would probably get less attention if I just straight-up carried a pad or tampon in the open compared to shoving it inside this bag! I considered it as a possible clutch, but the feel (TIN FOIL) and quality (CHEAP) didn’t work out for me either. Maybe if they had added a wristlet portion to the previous bags it may have worked out or just made this bag of higher quality! I don’t know what I would do with this bag at all! A complete no-no for me this month. =(

1) STARLOOKS: Amethyst Gem Eye Pencil

Full Size: $14 (one pencil)

20131108_160643Amethyst

2) CAILYN: Built-In sponge Tip Mineral Eyeshadow in Champagne (2.5g)

Full Size: $15 (2.5g)

20131108_160705

3) em michelle phan: pillow plush cushiony lip balm in vanilla (5g/0.176 oz)

Full Size: $15 (5g/0.176 oz)

20131108_160718

4) nailtini: Nail Lacquer in Champagne (15ml/0.5 fl. oz)

Full Size: $13 (15ml/ 0.5 fl. oz)

20131108_160807

5) PIXI: Beauty Bronzer in Summertime (3.2g/0.11 oz)

Full Size: £15.00 or $25.17 CAD (10.21g/0.36 oz)

Sample Size:  £4.70 or $7.89 CAD (3.2g/0.11 oz)

20131108_160745

6) be a bombshell: Lip Crayon in hot damn (1 crayon)

Full Size: $14 (1 crayon)

20131108_160831

This Month’s Total Value of Full Sized Items: $96.17

Estimated Value of this Month’s Bag: $78.89

Thoughts for this month’s ipsy bag

As I’ve mentioned early, sparkly and I don’t go together so this month’s make-up bag was not for me! =( However, I was super excited that I got 5 FULL SIZED items this month! If you just briefly glance above, the value of this month’s bag was super duper duper worth it! (Excuse my childish language LOL) but there were some mixed feelings about the items I received! Just because the items were mostly sparkly items, I wasn’t too keen on jumping right into trying them out as I was writing my review of the bag. The STARLOOKS: Amethyst Gem Eye PencilCAILYN: Built-In sponge Tip Mineral Eyeshadow in Champagne, and nailtini: Nail Lacquer in Champagne will probably be given away and never tried by me. The colours and sparkles just don’t work with me! I have single eye-lids, imagine how difficult it would be for me to wear amethyst and champagne on a regular basis or even occasional basis. I would literally need to be attending a gold-sparkles theme party to be able to look normal! On the other hand, I absolutely LOVEEE em michelle phan: pillow plush cushiony lip balm in vanilla. This lip balm at first feels a bit sticky (kind of like lip gloss) and then when you apply more, it has this nice creamy-smooth texture to it! Makes you constantly smack your lips together cause it’s so smooth and wonderful feeling! Definitely moisturizes! I applied quite a bit of this lip balm on to try and duplicate the colour on her site, but it’s more of a shear colour with a tint of sparkles, not too much! I’m also quite a fan of the PIXI: Beauty Bronzer in Summertime because even though summer is gone, this bronzer will help my pale, pasty skin look a bit healthier over the cold winter that’s about to come! And the best part is that, this bronzer doesn’t look orange like most bronzers! Finally, I know most people aren’t a fan of crayons, but for me, I love the be a bombshell: Lip Crayon in hot damn. I love how crayons work, they come in nice bright colours (if you haven’t guessed, my favourite colour is red!) and this month, ipsy graciously gave me a red-sparkly crayon! I know I said I don’t like sparkly things, but I can FEEL that I will love this crayon! I love bright red lips! I haven’t tried on this crayon because I’m currently spending an unhealthy amount of time smacking my lips together ’cause of the em lip balm! =)

P.S. See! I kept my promise. I wrote this up as soon I as received my package ^__^

Help me collect ipsy points by subscribing here! Thank youu!

4 thoughts on “November 2013 – Ipsy/My Glam

    • I noticed a lot of people are almost opposite of me! Lots of people seem to like sparkles! I hope you get your bag soon too! I actually received my bag before my tracking email! Hehe

    • Ahaha! Yeah, I’m not a huge fan of sparkles! I hope you liked your bag though! And thank you! I was secretly hoping that the sparkles wouldn’t show or marginally show (like the em lip balm) with the red crayon! Now it makes me happy to know it doesn’t sparkle! Makes me like this month’s bag that much more! =)

Leave a comment